bhyve A solid HOWTO with BHYVE on FreeBSD 14 and Windows 11

So, now that I've tried Vbox and found it's performance lacking, I've got a lot of feedback that I should try BHYVE. However, I'm finding a lot 'half' instructional documents. I'd like to get BHYVE running on FreeBSD14 HOST and Windows 11 running as a guest.

Some things that I've found is that there doesn't seem to be VNC server that is settled on and a few don't even have startup scripts so you can enable it from /etc/rc.d. Is this correct? Is there a preferred one?
(Everything seems to point to having a VNC server running on default port 5900 so you can start the 'install' of Windows with a VNC viewer by connecting to the VM with the viewer)

I'm a BHYVE newbie if that's not obvious.... be gentle. :D

Paul

Problem is, I never used Windows, and my bhyve instances are mainly automated containers for isolation only.
But indeed it seems that the bhyve docs are adressing somebody who already knows weill about the required things for virtualization.

I am not sure how important that VNC thing is, but in my understanding some of the important questions are (from bottom up):
  • how do you wire your networks?
  • how do you configure your virtual hardware (pci-slots, interfaces, etc.)
For this I didn't find configuration tools that were to my liking (commandline is a pain, packages are already too much), so I wrote shell scripts for rc.d, so that all the configuration can be put into rc.conf[.local].

I know I'm not addressing the question of "please give me a hand-holding guide" - but what I can say is that I have no problems with Windows 11 under bhyve. I have several Windows 11 bhyve VMs that I use daily and it works pretty well.

I wouldn't recommend using VNC, I usually use RDP. Definitely always with Windows clients but all of my graphical Linux bhyve VMs are using RDP too.

If you're not comfortable managing your VMs manually, I can recommend having a look at sysutils/vm-bhyve.